Connecticut Marijuana Laws and Penalties

Marijuana laws

Connecticut has some of the most harsh marijuana laws and penalties within the United States, as you can be charged with a “useable amount” instead of a specified amount. Thus, if the court finds any amount of marijuana on your person as a usable amount you can face sever penalties. Below you will find all of the most current Connecticut marijuana laws and penalties; however, take note this article was written in 2017.

Possession of Marijuana:

If you are caught possessing any “useable amount” of marijuana in Connecticut you will be charged with a misdemeanor, which carries a one year prison sentence and a maximum fine of $1,000. If you are caught with a “useable amount” of marijuana again, the charge is raised to a felony and carries a possible prison sentence of five years and a $3,000 fine.

If you are caught with four or more ounces of marijuana, you will be charged with a felony and may face up to five years in prison with a maximum fine of $2,000. Any subsequent offense of having four or more ounces of marijuana is also a felony offense and it carries a possibility of 10 years in prison and a $5,000 fine.

If you are caught with any amount of marijuana within 1,500 feet of a school zone you will be required to spend two years in prison, as this is a mandatory minimum sentence; even if this is your first offense ever. Mandatory minimum sentences may also add to previous sentences, and they cannot be reduced by a judge and you will also not be up for parole.

Connecticut Marijuana Laws

Sale/Cultivation of Marijuana:

If you are caught trying to sell or cultivate any amount of marijuana this is a felony offense with a possibility of seven years in prison and a maximum fine of $25,000. If you are caught selling any amount of marijuana within 1,500 feet of a daycare facility, public housing or a school you will be charged with a felony and must carry out a mandatory minimum sentence of three years. The punishment is also the same for selling any amount of marijuana to a minor.

If you get caught you will be also subjected to drug testing. You might try to trick the test and pass it with drug detox pills or cleansing drinks, but if you get caught you will go to jail for sure.